Location: In Dindigul District, Tamil Nadu
Name Derived: From the Words "Tintu Kal" Meaning Pillow Rock
Contains: large-scale Cotton Spinning And Weaving Mills, Handicraft Industries As Silk Weaving And Jewelry And Cigar Manufacturing Units
Places of Worship: Sri Kottai Mariamman Koil, Sri Kaalakatheeswarar Temple, St. Antony's Church, and St. Joseph Church
Situated between the Palani and Sirumalai hills in Dindigul district, Dindigul is a road transport hub. Its name is derived from the words "Tintu Kal" meaning pillow rock, refers to the bare hill dominating the city. The fortress built on the hill during the Vijayanagar era (1336-1565) was used in Hindu, Muslim and British wars from the 17th to the 19th centuries. The contemporary city contains large-scale cotton spinning and weaving mills, handicraft industries as silk weaving and jewelry and cigar manufacturing units.
Sri Kottai Mariamman Koil: Sri Kottai Mariamman Koil is more than 200 years old. The army men of Tipu Sultan at the fort of the mountain installed the Mariamman idol. Hence it is called "Kottai (Fort) Mariamman temple". The temple is square shaped and within the temple there is a temple for Vetri Vinayaka at the south and a temple for Lord Muruga at the north. There is a Mandapam (Hall) in the center of the ground in which there is a sculpture of a Lion facing the Sannidhi. The Sanctum Sanctorum is small and square shaped. The deity consecrated ("Moolavar") is seen here, embedded deeply under the floor.
There are several sculptures on the sniper structure over the Sanctum Sanctorum, depicting various incarnations of the Goddess Mariamman. On all the four sides, various scenes showing the destroying of the monster by the Goddess are seen. On the eastern side over the Amman Sannidhi is a temple for Vinayaka and on the western side a temple for Madurai Veeran. On the front side of the Sannidhi the Navagraha idols are installed. On the backside of the temple, there is an idol of Kaalhi and another one for Goddess Durga. The golden shield adorns the deity every day between 5.00 p.m. to 9.00 p.m. A Board of Trustees runs the temple.
Sri Kaalakatheeswarar Temple: Even though the Kaalakatheeswarar (also spelt as Kaalakatheeshwar) temple is very old, it came into limelight during the period of Thirumalai Naicker, who renovated several temples in and around Madurai. God Kaalakatheeswarar and Goddess Gnanambika are the presiding deities here. It is a practice to bring the idols of Abhirama Devi and Padmagirinagar from the above mountain to this temple and celebrate the Festival of Brahmasaram in the month of Chithirai (April). The Mandapam used for this purpose has been later embellished and the deities Kaalakatheewarar and Gnanambikai were installed and consecrated during the 14th century.
St. Antony's Church: Thomas Fernando constructed St. Antony's church during the period 1982-1989.An important ceremonies of this church is held annually, which starts on the last Friday of January and continues for 15 days.
St. Joseph Church: The British constructed St. Joseph church 100 years ago. The construction of this church was started in 1866 and completed in the year 1872. This church is the head church for all other churches in Dindigul District.
HOW TO GET THERE
Air: The nearest airport is at Trichy, located at a distance of 93-km.
Rail: Dindigul has a railway station and is well connected by rail with Palani, Trichy, Kodaikanal and other towns and cities within and beyond the state.
Road: Dindigul is well connected by road with the important places within and beyond the state. For local transportation taxis, auto rickshaws and cycle rickshaws are available.
FAIRS AND FESTIVALS: Festivals at Sri Kottai Mariamman Koil
Starting on the 5th day after the New Moon day, the great festival of Masi is celebrated for 10 days every year. There are other festivals in all the 12 months of the year. The devotees come here and worship to get cured of several diseases like Eye disease, Small Pox etc. The devotees perform several duties like taking Agni Chatti (Fire Pot), Milk Pot, Mulzaippari procession, Maavu Vilakku etc. Nearly 10 lakh people visit the temple during the festive days.
Festival of Brahmasaram at Sri Kaalakatheeswarar Temple
It is a practice to bring the idols of Abhirama Devi and Padmagirinagar from the above mountain to Sri Kaalakatheeswarar temple and celebrate the Festival of Brahmasaram in the month of Chithirai (April). This festival also draws huge crowds.
Population:2,14,586 (1991 Census)
|Temperature Range (deg C):
||Tamil, Malayalam and Telugu
||Tamil and English
Chennai - 389-km
Coimbatore - 132-km
Erode - 113-km
Karur - 68-km
Kodaikkanal - 135- km